Slide
Hotspot for life sciences
The future is created here

A leading global technology location


The company Fördergesellschaft IZB mbH, founded in 1995, is the operating company of the ­Innovation and Start-Up Centers for Biotechnology in Planegg-Martinsried and Freising-Weihenstephan, and has developed into one of the top ten renowned biotechnology centers in the world. Approximately 60 biotech companies with more than 600 employees are currently located over an area covering 26,000 m2. Here, work focuses on developing drugs against the most severe diseases such as cancer, Alzheimer‘s disease and various autoimmune diseases—and there are already many successes.

“As part of the IZB network, we have grown from a start-up to a Nasdaq-listed company in just three years.”

Dr. Daniel Vitt, CEO, Dr. Hella Kohlhof, CSO, Dr. Manfred Gröppel, COO, ­Dr. Andreas Mühler, CMO, Immunic Therapeutics

Proximity to top research


An important criterion for the success of the IZBs is the proximity to the universities and research institutions. The Martinsried science campus is now one of the largest centers in Europe, where basic scientific research, teaching, clinical research and technology innovation are brought together on one campus. There are two Max Planck Institutes, ten departments of the Ludwig Maximilian University, the Großhadern Clinic and the Helmholtz Center on the Martinsried Campus.

One of the leading technology locations in the world


“Biotechnology is one of the key technologies of the 21st century. 60 percent of the new generation of medicines come from the field of biotechnology. Two-thirds of the biotech companies in Germany are located in Bavaria. This sector dominated by innovation has created many new jobs. The goal of the Bavarian State Government is to maintain and also continue to expand this economic factor. This is why the Federal State of Bavaria offers excellent conditions for the development of new drugs, ­therapies and services at the Innovation and Start-up Center Biotechnology (IZB), located in Martinsried and Weihenstephan near Munich.”

Yours Hubert Aiwanger Bavarian Minister of State for Economics, Regional Development and Energy Deputy Prime Minister of Bavaria

Slide
Hotspot for life sciences
Hier entsteht Zukunft

Ein weltweit führender Technologiestandort


Die Fördergesellschaft IZB mbH, im Jahre 1995 gegründet, ist die Betreibergesellschaft der ­Innovations- und Gründerzentren Biotechnologie in Planegg-Martinsried und Freising-­Weihenstephan und hat sich zu einem renommierten Biotechnologiezentrum entwickelt, das zu den Top Ten der Welt gehört. Auf 26.000 m2 sind derzeit fast 60 Biotech-Unternehmen mit über 600 Mitarbeitern angesiedelt. Hier wird an der Entwicklung von Medikamenten gegen schwerste Erkrankungen, wie etwa Krebs, Alzheimer und diverse Autoimmun­erkrankungen gearbeitet – und es gibt schon viele Erfolge.

„Als Teil des IZB-Netzwerks konnten wir innerhalb von drei Jahren vom Start-up zum Nasdaq-gelisteten Unternehmen wachsen.“

Dr. Daniel Vitt, CEO, Dr. Hella Kohlhof, CSO, Dr. Manfred Gröppel, COO, ­Dr. Andreas Mühler, CMO, Immunic Therapeutics

Nähe zur Spitzenforschung


Ein wesentliches Kriterium für den Erfolg der IZBs ist die räumliche Nähe zu den Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen. Der Wissenschaftscampus Martinsried/Großhadern ist heute eines der größten Zentren Europas, in dem wissenschaftliche Grundlagenforschung, Lehre, klinische Forschung und Technologieinnovation auf einem Campus zusammengeführt sind. Auf dem Campus Martinsried befinden sich zwei Max-Planck-Institute, zehn Institute der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, das Klinikum Großhadern sowie das Helmholtz Zentrum.

Einer der führenden Technologiestandorte der Welt


„Bayern zählt zu den führenden Technologie-Standorten der Welt. Die Biotechnologie gehört zu den Schlüsseltechnologien des 21. Jahrhunderts. 60 Prozent der neuen Medizingenerationen kommen aus dem Bereich der Biotechnologie. Zwei Drittel der Biotech-Unternehmen in Deutschland sind in Bayern ansässig. In dieser durch Innovation geprägten Branche wurden viele neue Arbeitsplätze geschaffen. Das Ziel der Bayerischen Staatsregierung ist es, diesen Wirtschaftsfaktor zu erhalten und auch weiter auszubauen. Darum bietet der Freistaat Bayern den Biotech-Start-ups im Innovations- und Gründerzentrum Biotechnologie (IZB) an den Standorten Martinsried und Weihenstephan bei München exzellente Rahmenbedingungen für die Entwicklung neuer Medikamente, Therapien und Dienstleistungen.“

Ihr Hubert Aiwanger Bayerischer Staatsminister für Wirtschaft, Landesentwicklung und Energie Stellvertretender Bayerischer Ministerpräsident