Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. h. c. mult. Robert Huber

… was director at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry in Martinsried from 1972 to 2005 and today heads the Emeritus Group “Structure Research.” He is also co-founder of the biotech companies Proteros and SuppreMol. In 1988, Prof. Huber, together with Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Hartmut Michel and Prof. Dr. ­Johann Deisenhofer, was awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry “for the determination of the three-dimensional structure of a photosynthetic reaction center.”

Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Theodor Wolfgang Hänsch

… was appointed director of the Max Planck Institute for Quantum Optics in Garching in 1986 and today heads the Emeritus Group “Laser Spectroscopy”. Furthermore, he was involved in founding the ­Martinsried-based ­Menlo Systems GmbH at the IZB. In 2005 Prof. Hänsch, together with his colleague Prof. Dr. John L. Hall, ­received the Nobel Prize in Physics “for their contributions to the development of laser-based precision spectroscopy, including the optical frequency comb technique.”