• MetaHeps GmbH
  • Am Klopferspitz 19
  • 82152 Planegg/Martinsried
  • Germany
  • Phone: +49 (0)89/70076614
  • moc.spehatem@nejioorvl

MetaHeps® has developed an ex-vivo blood test to clearly identify the cause of drug-induced liver injury (DILI) in a suspected individual patient. MetaHeps® was founded in 2014 by leading hepatology experts as a spin-off from the university hospital Grosshadern der LMU, Munich, Germany. It has a strong IP position in the US, EU and in Japan. The vision of MetaHeps® is to increase access of patients to novel and existing drugs by quickly solving and preventing DILI issues in an unrivaled and innovative approach.

Idiosyncratic DILI is an important reason for acute liver failure and also a huge risk for marketed drugs and drugs in clinical development: iDILI affect only few patients (e.g. 1 in 10.000) while most of patients can be treated without developing liver damage. There is no clear dose-relationship and the latency of iDILI varies between weeks and months. The importance of the individual patient characteristics for the occurrence of iDILI precludes detection in preclinical (cell or animal) models. Therefore, iDILI is often only detected in late stage clinical trials potentially leading to project terminations or even market withdrawals with huge financial losses. There is also relevant damage to patients: the susceptible patients, which potentially develop life-threatening liver failure, but also the other patients, which tolerate the drug, may lose an important treatment option because of market withdrawals or study terminations.

 

iDILI diagnosis is mainly based on exclusion of other etiologies of liver damage (e.g. viral hepatitis) and gold standard for causality assessment is expert opinion. In patients taking several drugs it may be impossible to identify the causative agent.

 

The MetaHeps® test is offered as a service for BioPharma companies and CROs: Using a blood sample from patients with iDILI suspicion the test can

a) clear a drug from iDILI suspicion

b) identify potentially dangerous drug interactions that can be avoided in future

c) identify true positive cases for a given drug and thus facilitate the development of innovative and specific safety biomarkers.

This will improve patient safety as well as reduce incorrect stops in drug development.

 

MetaHeps GmbH is a spin-off company of the LMU Munich.

• MetaHeps GmbH
  • Am Klopferspitz 19
  • 82152 Planegg/Martinsried
  • Germany
  • Tel.: +49 (0)89/70076614
  • lvrooijen@metaheps.com

MetaHeps® hat einen ex-vivo Blut Test entwickelt womit die Ursache von arzneimittelinduzierten Leberschäden klar identifiziert werden kann in individuellen Patienten. MetaHeps® wurde in 2014 von führenden Hepatologie Experten als Ausgründung vom Universitätskrankenhaus Grosshadern der LMU, München, Deutschland gegründet. Sie hat eine starke IP Position in USA, EU und in Japan. Die Vision von MetaHeps® ist es den Zugang zu neuen und bestehenden Arzneimitteln für Patienten zu fördern, indem DILI Themen, auf einem einzigartigen und innovativen Weg, schnell gelöst und vorgebeugt werden.

Idiosynkratischer DILI ist eine wichtige Ursache für akute Leberschäden und stellt ein Risiko für Arzneimittel im Markt und bei der Entwicklung neuer Medikamente dar: iDILI betrifft nur einige wenige Patienten (z.B. 1:10.000), während der Großteil der Patienten das Medikament einnehmen kann, ohne Leberschäden zu entwickeln. Da die Reaktion ohne klare Dosis-Wirkungsbeziehung und häufig mit wochen- bis monatelanger Latenz auftritt, ist iDILI in der präklinischen Entwicklung (Zellmodelle, Tierversuche) nicht vorhersagbar, da die individuelle Konstitution des Patienten eine entscheidende Rolle spielt. Somit werden iDILI Fälle häufig erst in späten Stadien der Arzneimittelentwicklung entdeckt, was Entwicklungsstops und Marktrücknahmen mit erheblichen finanziellen Verlusten zur Folge haben kann. Der Schaden für die Patienten ist ebenfalls enorm: von iDILI betroffene Patienten erleiden mitunter ein lebensbedrohliches Leberversagen, aber auch für die Patienten, die das Medikament vertragen, steht nun eine möglicherweise wichtige Therapieoption nicht mehr zur Verfügung.

 

Trotz der großen Bedeutung von iDILI für die Arzneimittelentwicklung basiert die Diagnose weitgehend auf dem Ausschluß anderer Ursachen für den Leberschaden (Virushepatitis etc.) und Goldstandard zur Kausalitätsprüfung (festlegen des ursächlichen Arzneimittels) ist weiterhin die Expertenmeinung. Im Falle von Patienten mit Einnahme mehrerer Medikamente kann die Identifizierung der ursächlichen Substanz somit unmöglich sein.

 

Der MetaHeps® Test ist ein Service für die BioPharmaindustrie und CROs: Anhand einer Blutprobe des betroffenen Patienten kann bei iDILI-Verdachtsfällen

a) ein Arzneimittel als Ursache ausgeschlossen werden

b) potenziell gefährliche Interaktionen entdeckt und vermieden werden

c) anhand wirklich positiver iDILI Fälle die Entwicklung spezifischer und innovativer Biomarker ermöglicht werden.

So soll bei verbesserter Patientensicherheit die Anzahl ungerechtfertigter Entwicklungsabbrüche in den klinischen Phasen reduziert werden.